Local Human Rights Awards Recipients

2020: Laurie Ryznyk for her personal and professional efforts on the state and local levels, to bring awareness and care to human trafficking victims.

2018: Mr Thanet Natisri for his role in assisting the rescue of 12 soccer players and their coach in Thailand and for his work with the Aquifer Recovery project to help with water storage in Thailand. 

2017: The Race Unity group for their work on peacemaking and building bridges in our local community.

 2016: The Good Samaritan Ministries, under the direction of Mr. Mike Heath, for their tireless efforts to alleviate hunger and homelessness in Southern Illinois.

2015: Mr. James Chapman for his work securing civil rights for prisoners. 

2014: Mrs. Lois Hayward for her prison ministries work at Tamms supermax women's prison. She co-founded New Day Prison Ministries, and to provide outreach and support for Illinois prison populations and their families.

2013: Mr. Tom Logan and the Marion Medical Mission for their work in providing access to clean water in Africa.

2012: The attorneys and staff at the Land of Lincoln Legal Assistance Foundation in Carbondale, Illinois.

2011: Preston Ewing Jr., author of the landmark book entitled “Let my People Go” and President of the NAACP in Cairo, IL from 1967-75.

2010: John Erbes and Rebecca O’Neill for their work defending the human rights of the elderly in Southern Illinois through their work with the Southern Illinois University School of Law Civil Practice Clinic.